Thursday, July 01, 2010

Bloomsday June 16, 2010 - Video from UCD

Video from Bloomsday June 16 at University College Dublin with Jürgen Habermas and the ten recipients of honorary degrees:

"Bloomsday 2010 at UCD"
(video, 15 minutes)

Jürgen Habermas received the UCD Ulysses Medal.

See Maeve Cooke's laudatio for Habermas here (pdf).

The honorary degrees were conferred on Broadcaster and historian, John Bowman; Internationally acclaimed author, Colm Tóibín; NGO anti-hunger campaigner, Tom Arnold; Journalist and agriculture expert, Matt Dempsey; Medical researcher and physician, Martin Carey; Chemist, Tadhg Begley; French novelist, playwright and feminist theorist, Hélène Cixous; French medical scientist, Laurent Perret; Pioneering scientist, Raymond Dwek; and Philosopher, Thomas McCarthy.

My previous posts on the event here and here.

No comments: