Monday, January 28, 2013

Erasmus Prize 2013 awarded to Habermas

The Praemium Erasmianum Foundation in Amsterdam has awarded the Erasmus Prize 2013 to Jürgen Habermas.

Here is the statement of the foundation:

"The theme of the Erasmus Prize this year is ‘the future of democracy’. For over 50 years, Jürgen Habermas has been one of the leading thinkers in the fields of sociology, philosophy and politics. Central in his thinking is democracy and the commitment of the citizens. He is sharp and critical in his political analysis, but at the same time optimistic about the future of a democratic Europe. He beliefs in the debate, in ratio as the source of politics and in the equality of man. With his humanistic views and commitment to the future of Europe he embodies the Erasmian values the Praemium Erasmianum Foundation holds so dear."

The Erasmus Prize is an annual award for a person who has made an exceptional contribution to culture, society or social science. The prize money is a sum of Euro 150.000.

Past award winners include: Karl Jaspers, Martin Buber, Claude Levi-Strauss, Vaclav Havel, Isaiah Berlin, Leszek Kolakowski, Adam Michnik, and Daniel C. Dennett.

The award ceremony will take place in the autumn of 2013.

No comments: