Friday, February 17, 2012

Seyla Benhabib awarded the Dr. Leopold Lucas Prize

The 2012 Dr. Leopold Lucas Prize will be awarded to Professor Seyla Benhabib (Yale University). The prize is awarded annually in recognition of outstanding achievement in the fields of Theology, History or Philosophy, focusing on individuals whose work promotes tolerance among nations and religions. Seyla Benhabib will receive the prize at the University of Tübingen, Germany, on May 8, 2012.

The Leopold Lucas Prize honors the memory of the Jewish rabbi and scholar Dr. Leopold Lucas, murdered at Theresienstadt concentration camp in 1943.

Past award winners are Karl Popper, Paul Ricœur, Michael Walzer, Michael Theunissen, Peter L. Berger, and Avishai Margalit.

Further information here.

See my post on Seyla Benhabib's lecture on ""Democratic Sovereignty and International Law: The Contemporary Debate" (video, November 2011).

Seyla Benhabib is Professor of Political Science and Philosophy at Yale University. For the academic year 2011-2012, she is a fellow at the Straus Institute for the Advanced Study of Law & Justice, New York University. She is the recipient of the Ernst Bloch prize in 2009.

No comments: